House Full of Dogs

Adventures of Angel and Chaos

Small dog syndrome

4 Comments

Because of Rumpy’s comment on our last re-blogged post titled “Story of my life“, we though (Angel: “Well Chaos thought anyway, he’s the snappy, grouchy one.”), ok I (Chaos) thought of explaining myself.

Chaos: I had a heart to heart talk with mommy after she kept telling me “NO” everytime I’d start barking at practically anyone who passes by in from of our house (Angel: “Mommy got mad because Chaos trampled on her newly planted cosmos and sunflowers trying to run after the lady in a bicycle from inside our fence.” Chaos: “Tattle tale!”). She said I have Small dog syndrome. Well, I know i am a small dog, so I asked her, “Mommy, what does ‘syndrome‘ mean?” She laughed at me but explained the term anyway.

She said Small/Little Dog Syndrome (SDS) means a small dog that has established himself/herself as the humans’ pack leader. I said, well, aren’t we supposed to be the house’s pack leader? She explained that because we are small, everything we do are considered cute and so we can practically get away with a lot of things, like jumping on mommy’s lap while she’s watching TV or barking at passing strangers (Chaos: “So that is why those people look at me and laugh even when I bark at them”). While bigger dogs, because of their size, are usually disciplined early on NOT to do those things. And also, because we are small, we tend to compensate with attitude what we lack in size, especially when we are nervous or scared. (Here are some of the articles/posts we found on the internet about Small/Little Dog Syndrome: from perfectdogtraining.com, from Yahoo.com, from ModernDogMagazine.com)

Mommy says it’s not too late to teach us who’s boss. But we already know who’s boss (Angel: “I am!” Chaos: “True dat!”)
Well, there you have it folks and big dogs out there. Even though it’s hard for me to admit, bigger dogs do have a tendency to be “friendlier” than small dogs. But however way you look at it, small dogs are still cuter (Chaos: “Because we are always small!”)

Till our next post. This is Angel and Chaos signing out.

Who’s the boss in your household?

Author: Angel&Chaos

We're Angel, the Pomeranian starlet, and Chaos, the Chihuahua protector and Mommy calls us the DYNAMIC DUO! We always get into trouble trying to stick our little heads into our Mommy's stuff. But at the end of the day, we are still her favorite snuggle pups.

4 thoughts on “Small dog syndrome

  1. Pingback: Small Dog Syndrome | Thriving Pessimist…

  2. I’m afraid Miss Taylor exhibits some of those quirks…I’ve often called it “The Napoleon Syndrome”. 😉

Your barks are welcome here!

